ICIRA 2016 is supported by:
● IEEE SMC Japan Chapter
● Research Center for
    Community Centric Systems
    Research Center for Community Centric Systems
    Robotics Task Force

Advisory Committee:

Jorge Angeles
McGill University, Canada
Hegao Cai
Harbin Institute of Tech., China
Tianyou Chai
Northeastern University, China
Jiansheng Dai
King’s College London, UK
Toshio Fukuda
Meijo Univ., Japan
Fumio Harashima
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Huosheng Hu
University of Essex, UK
Han Ding
Huazhong Univ. of Sci. & Tech., China
Oussama Khatib
Stanford Univ., USA
Zhongqin Lin
Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ., China
Imre Rudas
Obuda University, Hungary
Shigeki Sugano
Waseda University, Japan
Guobiao Wang
National Natural Sci. Found. of China, China
Kevin Warwick
University of Reading, UK
Bogdan M. Wilamowski
Auburn University, USA
Ming Xie
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Youlun Xiong
Huazhong Univ. of Sci. & Tech., China
Huayong Yang
Zhejiang University, China

Organizing Committee:

General Chair:
Naoyuki Kubota
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

General Co-chairs:
Xiangyang Zhu
Shanghai JiaoTong University,China
Kok-Meng Lee
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Jangmyung Lee
Pusan National University, Korea

Program Chair:
Kazuo Kiguchi
Kyushu University, Japan

Program Co-chairs:
Honghai Liu
University of Portsmouth, UK
Chun-Yi Su
Concordia University, Canada
Janos Botzheim
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Special Sessions Chair:
Kazuyoshi Wada
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Special Sessions Co-Chairs:
Alexander Ferrein
University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Chu Kiong Loo
University of Malaya, Malaysia
Jason Gu
Dalhousie University, Canada

Award Committee Chair:
Toru Yamaguchi
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Award Committee Co-Chairs:
Kentaro Kurashige
Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
Kok Wai (Kevin) Wong
Murdoch University, Australia

Workshop Chairs:
Yasufumi Takama
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Workshop Co-chairs:
Simon Egerton
Monash University, Malaysia
Lieu-Hen Chen
National Chi Nan University, Taiwan

Publication Chairs:
Takenori Obo
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Publication Co-Chairs:
Taro Nakamura
Chuo University, Japan
Chee Seng Chan
University of Malaya, Malaysia

Publicity Chair:
Hiroyuki Masuta
Toyama Prefectural University, Japan

Publicity Co-Chair:
Jiangtao Cao
Liaoning Shihua University, China
Mattias Wahde
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Simon X. Yang
University of Guelph, Canada

Financial Chair:
Takahiro Takeda
Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Zhaojie Ju
University of Portsmouth, UK

Paper Submission

    The paper submission system to regular sessions and special sessions has been closed, but the paper submission to workshops is still open by June 2.

Workshop in ICIRA 2016

    The submitted papers are subject to a rigorous peer review by at least two referees. ICIRA 2016 will present the Best Paper Awards and the Best Student Paper Awards to recognize outstanding papers published in the conference proceedings. Student paper means, that the first author of the paper is a student, and the paper must be presented by that student. The awards will be judged by an Awards Committee and the recipient of each award will be given a certificate of the award to be presented during the conference banquet at ICIRA 2016.

    All papers to be presented at regular sessions or special sessions are to be published in LNAI/LNCS series of Springer (www.springer.com/lncs ). Selected quality paper will be recommended for ICIRA 2016 special issues of International Journal of Intelligent Robotics and Applications, Springer with further review.

If authors have problems in submission through the homepage, please feel free to contact the secretariat through e-mail: icira2016@tmu.ac.jp

    Authors have to prepare their papers using the available LaTex or MS Word templates. For the LaTex template authors will also need to download the LNCS class files. They have to use the latest templates and do not change the formatting in any way. We strongly encourage authors to use the available templates.

    The articles must be written in English with a maximum number of 12 pages in the standard ICIRA format. There are two types of paper according to the paper length. Short papers can be between 6 and 9 pages long. Regular length paper can be between 10 and 12 pages long. A maximum of two additional pages will be permitted at an extra charge of JPY 10,000 per page payable when submitting the final version. Please note that prospective authors must submit the first draft of their full paper in PDF format through the conference submission system by April 14, 2016 April 24, 2016.

    Before submission, authors should check the PDF file for Springer's Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) compliance. General information on how to create Springer's Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) compatible PDFs is available here.

In order to submit papers, first the authors have to register. This can be done on the following screen by clicking the ‘Registration’ button.
  • Submmision 01

After registration, authors can click the ‘Submission’ button, which will lead to the following screen:
  • Submmision 02

Here, authors can enter the ‘Title' of the paper, the ‘Keywords', and the ‘Label', which shows the list of sessions. Authors can select from four types of regular paper, 22 special sessions, and two workshops as illustrated here:
  • Submmision 03

Then the abstract and the list of authors can be entered and the pdf document can be uploaded:
  • Submmision 04


Organized Session Proposal: February 29
March 14, 2016 (extended)
Deadline for Paper Submission: April 14, 2016
April 24, 2016 (extended)
Notification of Acceptance: May 2, 2016
May 12, 2016 (extended)
Early Bird Registration: June 30, 2016
Deadline for Final Manuscripts: May 31, 2016
August 22-24, 2016